Webmaster Forum

Go Back   Webmaster Forum > Web Development > Web Design Lobby

Web Design Lobby Forum for general web design issues not specific to scripting or graphics.

Share |
Old 07-24-2011, 07:32 AM

Question Website Safety

Hi All,
I am brand new to web design so bought software that can keep it as simple as possible. I bought Serif Web Plus X5 to this end as I do not wish to outsource the jobs and have no html experience. I have not begun yet to create a website but will be doing so in the next few weeks.

My question is this... what do I need to do to ensure my website(s) once up and running are safe from hackers etc? How can I keep them water tight?

Thanks in advance for any feedback anyone gives to this post. Billi

Advertisement

Advertisement

Old 07-24-2011, 10:33 AM
Contributing Member

well, even the cia gets hacked into on occasion so being "water tight" is almost a myth.

anyway, when you are ready for hosting make sure the host uses Apache and allows you to create .htaccess files per directory, this will make blocking and locking things up much easier.

you also want to make sure the host allows for you to change file permissions, and never set any files to 777 or 666 unless you know what you are doing.

for the inputs/forms on you site, make sure they all use some sort of escape or sanitize before posting data straight to the database. never post directly to the db.

make it a habit to read your access and error logs, the data there is invaluable and not just for security.

and make backups in case all else fails.

there is much to talk about; just read all you can, sites like askapache.com, perishablepress.com, and w3schools.com are great places to get familiar with.

Old 07-24-2011, 10:48 AM

That's really great Fooini... it's a foreign language now but will not be when I've done the research on all you've said. Thanks so much for taking time out to help me

Old 07-26-2011, 05:41 PM
Contributing Member