Webmaster Forum

Go Back   Webmaster Forum > Web Development > Web Design Lobby

Web Design Lobby Forum for general web design issues not specific to scripting or graphics.

Share |
Old 04-18-2012, 06:59 AM

help with my start

I'm passion to be a web designer.. I'm studying software engineering, but just I think I'm not the left brain guy, so in my course period I would like to be an advance in web design. My school haven't start to teach about web, but I already know HTML, CSS by self taught before..

now I need to know where to go on, because before this I only modify wordpress theme manually (filezilla > edit style.css lol)..

I

Advertisement

Advertisement

Old 04-18-2012, 08:00 AM
Contributing Member

Hi,

If I were you, I would visit webdesign websites where you can find useful tutorials to create graphics, and just train, train, train. I guess most designers don't even go to a school (too expensive?) and just practice by themselves.

Old 04-18-2012, 08:04 AM

Agreed. But if you go to a proffesional course with examinations you'll learn better methodologies. I use trial and error when I'm redesigning sites and it's leads to all sorts of problems.

Old 04-21-2012, 04:50 PM
Contributing Member

If you are passionate about website design you'll learn as you build website.

If you don't have customers: play with HTML , CSS, PHP, Javascript and Photoshop. Build fun websites with a lot of scripts and complicated gadgets.

You can learn all you need to know from forums, blogs, tutorials... all for free. Just search Google first :p

Old 04-23-2012, 07:23 AM

I would start sporadically downloading some of the most popular themes on Themeforest and studying the authors code. I'd also subscribe via RSS to sites like Nettuts and CSS-Tricks to get the latest techniques to use in your themes. I've also found the material at Codeschool.com to be really useful.