Webmaster Forum

Go Back   Webmaster Forum > Web Development > Web Hosting Forum

Web Hosting Forum Discuss web hosting related stuff.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Share |
  #1  
Old 04-21-2010, 04:29 PM
turf turf is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: 08-30-09
Posts: 819
iTrader: 2 / 100%
accidentally change nameservers :D

when you accidentally changed the nameservers of the site in godaddy and then change it back to its original, will the site be back right where it is or it will need to propagate again?
 
Reply With Quote

Advertisement

Advertisement

  #2  
Old 04-21-2010, 05:06 PM
HTMLBasicTutor's Avatar
HTMLBasicTutor HTMLBasicTutor is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: 10-29-07
Location: Canada
Posts: 26,591
iTrader: 5 / 100%
Never done that.

But...I would think it has to propagate again because you already sent out a message to all the DNSs of the world you changed the DNS and now ya want to change it again.
 
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-22-2010, 04:37 AM
energizedit's Avatar
energizedit energizedit is offline
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: 11-12-09
Posts: 63
iTrader: 0 / 0%
I agree, it will need to propogate to the servers who saw the first change. It may not be that many so it may seem instant.
 
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-22-2010, 06:35 AM
hjc725 hjc725 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: 04-21-10
Posts: 14
iTrader: 2 / 100%
Why the propogate always taking very long time last time chaged my web server took always two days to propogate, is there anyway can speed things up?
 
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-22-2010, 06:44 AM
turf turf is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: 08-30-09
Posts: 819
iTrader: 2 / 100%
but then its now more than 8 hours and its still ok so i guess. its ok/.
 
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-22-2010, 08:23 AM
HTMLBasicTutor's Avatar
HTMLBasicTutor HTMLBasicTutor is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: 10-29-07
Location: Canada
Posts: 26,591
iTrader: 5 / 100%
The stock answer for how long it takes for all the domain name servers around the world to update is 24-48 hours.

Consider also that your ISP (internet service provider) may be caching the net and you have to wait for them to up date the cache.

Have you cleared the cache in your browser?
Clear Web Browser History Firefox
Internet Explorer Web Browser History - this is for IE6 but it will give you an idea where to look
 
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-22-2010, 12:10 PM
turf turf is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: 08-30-09
Posts: 819
iTrader: 2 / 100%
i've cleared the cache and the site's still up.
let me know please if you can view it for me. its in my sig.. - cebu...
 
Reply With Quote
Go Back   Webmaster Forum > Web Development > Web Hosting Forum

Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How do you change nameservers yousellstuff Web Hosting Forum 9 10-22-2008 05:57 AM
Memory card data information was accidentally deleted, shahab6 Tech Talk 4 10-02-2007 10:33 AM
Help...Nameservers...etc.... mystery250 Web Hosting Forum 13 03-22-2004 08:30 PM


V7N Network
Get exposure! V7N I Love Photography V7N SEO Blog V7N Directory


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:54 AM.
Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000-2014 Jelsoft Enterprises Limited.
Copyright © 2003 - 2018 VIX-WomensForum LLC