Webmaster Forum

Go Back   Webmaster Forum > Web Development > Web Hosting Forum

Web Hosting Forum Discuss web hosting related stuff.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Share |
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 02-17-2012, 04:26 PM
tunedTECH's Avatar
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: 04-12-09
Location: Canada
Posts: 219
iTrader: 1 / 100%
Getting pissed off by Hostgator!!

Today I received this email from them.

Quote:
Hello,

Unfortunately, we were forced to suspend the script /home/******/public_html/index.php as it was causing high loading issues on the server. Due to this affecting all of the other accounts on the system, we had to take immediate action for the health of the server.

It appears that you are using W3-Total-Cache. With this plugin we strongly recommend that you *disable* "Database Cache" and "Object Cache" in the plug-ins settings for the best performance, as well as ensuring that "Preview Mode" is disabled. If this is already enabled, it is likely that you will need to disable other resource intensive plug-ins, or identify an issue such as a large percentage of 404 errors, as these default to redirect to the main script of WordPress.

Also, please note that you should still be able to access the admin panel, and most of the site to make any modifications that you might need.

If you reply back to this with your IP address (http://www.hostgator.com/ip.shtml) we will be more than happy to go ahead enable HTTP access for you, so that you can safely work on the script without it causing further issues.

Once you have made the changes, please respond to this with the changes that you have made, so that we can re-enable this site, and watch for further problems, or see if there might be further suggestions that we can make to help lower the load that this site causes.
But I don't understand because I do not have that plug in anymore...

So is there any shared hosting company you guys can recommend me that have a good hosting service? Fast server and Decent price!
__________________
Car Enthusiasts | Be a Facebook fan | Follow us on Twitter | Car Enthusiasts Forum
 
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 02-17-2012, 04:29 PM
snakeair's Avatar
Super Moderator
Latest Blog:
None

 
Join Date: 12-31-07
Location: Southampton, NJ
Posts: 47,635
iTrader: 3 / 100%
I moved off gator late last year for a similiar issue. I didn't bother emailing them and moved to Nexcess WordPress hosting.

Never had any issues at all with them. I promote them on my blog. lol

http://www.nexcess.net/wordpress-hosting

Also i'm using Cloudflare.
 
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 02-17-2012, 04:47 PM
ScriptMan's Avatar
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: 02-10-07
Location: Central Kentucky
Posts: 11,793
iTrader: 4 / 100%
The Snake was kind enough to not mention it but in between he tried a host I recommended. I guess I am saying you might want to listen to him.
__________________
SEO does not mean Spam Everywhere Online
Scriptman's Playhouse || Ramblings from an old man
 
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 02-17-2012, 04:53 PM
James2Dylan's Avatar
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: 02-04-12
Location: Texas
Posts: 135
iTrader: 0 / 0%
That is some good information to know as I'm currently with Hostgator. Guess I have something to look forward to now. UGH!
__________________
Make Money Now Fast for Money Making Ideas. Don't miss how Commission Killer is the BEST for your business... Click Here
 
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 02-17-2012, 04:54 PM
snakeair's Avatar
Super Moderator
Latest Blog:
None

 
Join Date: 12-31-07
Location: Southampton, NJ
Posts: 47,635
iTrader: 3 / 100%
Quote:
Originally Posted by ScriptMan View Post
The Snake was kind enough to not mention it but in between he tried a host I recommended. I guess I am saying you might want to listen to him.
In the end, i liked the support on my new web host. Besides the hosting features, I want helpful support who doesn't write from a "script".

Contact the host i mentioned and talk to them. If you have a copy of your traffic stat's and other stat's, mention that in the email.

Also, shop around, you might find something better then what i suggested.
 
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 02-17-2012, 06:57 PM
Contributing Member
Latest Blog:
None

 
Join Date: 07-04-11
Posts: 71
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Did you clarify and check with them, I mean hostgator. There might be some miss-checking? Have really removed the plugin (that you used to install) from your database?

For new hosting plan wise, how much disk space do you require?
__________________
Exabytes Network - The Web Hosting Provider since 2001
Business Hosting Plan - Check out discount voucher here
Dedicated Server - Free 25GB CDN for any sign-up
 
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 02-20-2012, 07:01 AM
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: 07-19-06
Posts: 696
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Hostgator mentioned that plugin, but it could be anything else. They can't be sure of the reason, but they know that your script is taking too much CPU. Most shared hosts have restrictions on CPU usage which is understandable when you are on a shared host with 100 / 1000s of other sites and pay less than $10. There are tons of other hosts, but you may want to optimize your site / check what is taking too much CPU - if you really want a long term solution.
__________________
Hosting Reviews: Read Bluehost Hosting Review and Hostgator Review
 
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 02-20-2012, 04:04 PM
snakeair's Avatar
Super Moderator
Latest Blog:
None

 
Join Date: 12-31-07
Location: Southampton, NJ
Posts: 47,635
iTrader: 3 / 100%
You can know what changes to make to your site by checking your stat's on this site.

http://gtmetrix.com/
 
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 02-20-2012, 06:09 PM
tunedTECH's Avatar
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: 04-12-09
Location: Canada
Posts: 219
iTrader: 1 / 100%
Quote:
Originally Posted by snakeair View Post
You can know what changes to make to your site by checking your stat's on this site.

http://gtmetrix.com/
Was actually using this site keep track of my page load time etc..

I am now in process fixing this High priority one! will start with adding expiration to my headers, combining all my css component and go from there!

How's the claudflare? I've heard of them but never really look into it! i am using Maxcdn on my blog and forum am i still able to use claudflare?

Ill check the hosting company you mentioned above, right now i wanna use up the amount i paid to hostgator cos if i move now i will not be able to get my money back!
__________________
Car Enthusiasts | Be a Facebook fan | Follow us on Twitter | Car Enthusiasts Forum
 
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 02-20-2012, 06:17 PM
tunedTECH's Avatar
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: 04-12-09
Location: Canada
Posts: 219
iTrader: 1 / 100%
Quote:
Originally Posted by snakeair View Post
I moved off gator late last year for a similiar issue. I didn't bother emailing them and moved to Nexcess WordPress hosting.

Never had any issues at all with them. I promote them on my blog. lol

http://www.nexcess.net/wordpress-hosting

Also i'm using Cloudflare.
wow.. first time i see a hosting provider that provides caching service thats a plus for me!

will this be ok also for my forum page Vbulletin?

the price is kinda doubled the amount but if this is great why not!
__________________
Car Enthusiasts | Be a Facebook fan | Follow us on Twitter | Car Enthusiasts Forum
 
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 02-20-2012, 08:22 PM
Contributing Member
Latest Blog:
None

 
Join Date: 06-14-10
Posts: 786
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Obviously it was probably stated in their terms of service if you hinder server performance, they can cut you off. I think they are notorious for going overboard with interfering too much too. Your best bet is to find a new home.
__________________
My Site: MacLappy [link soon!]

Hosted by: Myhosting.com
 
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 02-21-2012, 02:14 AM
snakeair's Avatar
Super Moderator
Latest Blog:
None

 
Join Date: 12-31-07
Location: Southampton, NJ
Posts: 47,635
iTrader: 3 / 100%
Quote:
Originally Posted by tunedTECH View Post
wow.. first time i see a hosting provider that provides caching service thats a plus for me!

will this be ok also for my forum page Vbulletin?

the price is kinda doubled the amount but if this is great why not!
I don't know about hosting a forum with this webhost though. I just have them for my blog only and nothing else. It's best to ask there support team since you know exactly how much traffic your forum recieves daily..etc
 
Reply With Quote
Go Back   Webmaster Forum > Web Development > Web Hosting Forum

Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pissed Off! Franc Tireur Controversial Social Issues 26 04-16-2011 02:51 AM


V7N Network
Get exposure! V7N I Love Photography V7N SEO Blog V7N Directory


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:26 AM.
Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000-2014 Jelsoft Enterprises Limited.
Copyright © 2003 - 2014 Escalate Media




Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 RC 2 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.