Webmaster Forum

Go Back   Webmaster Forum > Web Development > Web Hosting Forum

Web Hosting Forum Discuss web hosting related stuff.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Share |
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 04-09-2012, 12:24 PM
Junior Member
Latest Blog:
None

 
Join Date: 03-20-12
Posts: 39
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Problem with godaddy unlimited hosting..

Hi,

I am having a godaddy unlimited hosting plan..

Now i am trying to integrate an SMS service on my web application, which required an specific port to be open, but the godaddy is not allowing any of the port.. Almost all the ports are closed other than 80, 21 and some more common ports..

Please let me know any solution for this...
 
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 04-09-2012, 03:28 PM
ScriptMan's Avatar
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: 02-10-07
Location: Central Kentucky
Posts: 11,981
iTrader: 4 / 100%
If I said get a real host would I be insulting you? That is not my intention.
__________________
SEO does not mean Spam Everywhere Online
Scriptman's Playhouse || Ramblings from an old man
 
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 04-09-2012, 04:17 PM
snakeair's Avatar
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: 12-31-07
Location: Southampton, NJ
Posts: 49,071
iTrader: 3 / 100%
I agree with Sman's post above.

Have you actually tried contacting Godaddy support to ask them about this?

You say you have a unlimited plan. What plan is that exactly? Shared hosting...etc
__________________
WP Outcast - WordPress News, Tips & Theme Release's

Like Us on Facebook
facebook.com/wpoutcast
 
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 04-10-2012, 12:47 AM
GlobeGenius's Avatar
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: 11-25-11
Location: Canada
Posts: 265
iTrader: 0 / 0%
GoDaddy would have nothing to do with ports. You control those on your own computer. Make sure the application you are trying to install is compatible with your SQL.
__________________
Lost Fox Mine information / Fly a Reaper UAV Demo
 
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 04-11-2012, 02:57 AM
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: 07-19-06
Posts: 700
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Quote:
Originally Posted by GlobeGenius View Post
GoDaddy would have nothing to do with ports. You control those on your own computer. Make sure the application you are trying to install is compatible with your SQL.
I dont want to be disrepectful, but this comment makes no sense. He is talking about a Godaddy shared hosting account and applications running on it, how on earth would the port on his PC matter? Application being compatible with SQL? that is another inaccurate description - he obviously have no problem with the DATABASE support.

I would second the suggestion from scriptman. Godaddy is not known for great shared hosting service, get a specialist host. Try something like Hostgator and ask them about the port you need, before signing up.
__________________
Hosting Reviews: Read Bluehost Hosting Review and Hostgator Review
 
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 04-23-2012, 08:06 AM
SolidShellSecurity's Avatar
Contributing Member
Latest Blog:
None

 
Join Date: 01-09-12
Posts: 136
iTrader: 1 / 100%
Some providers are picky about opening ports. But yea, ask and see if they will help.
__________________
SolidShellSecurity.com Quality & Secure Hosting with Amazing Support =)
STAY ALERT! Sign up for our security mailing list and always know when threats come out.
 
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 04-25-2012, 05:17 AM
Senior Member
Latest Blog:
None

 
Join Date: 04-11-11
Location: Bangalore, India
Posts: 121
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Hi,

What i suggest you that before going to a new host, you just contact their support and explain your problem..They may able to help you out... If not, you can try for new host where you get required port..
 
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 06-07-2012, 07:05 AM
Banned
Latest Blog:
None

 
Join Date: 03-10-11
Posts: 290
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zita View Post
Hi,

What i suggest you that before going to a new host, you just contact their support and explain your problem..They may able to help you out... If not, you can try for new host where you get required port..
Yes agreed because if you shift to new host without discussing your meter may be you faced the same situation again .
 
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 06-16-2012, 12:50 PM
Bob Barr's Avatar
Moderator
Latest Blog:
None

 
Join Date: 05-17-08
Location: Morgan Hill, California
Posts: 2,390
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jessyca View Post
i would NEVER touch godaddy.
While GoDaddy is OK for domain registration, their hosting can be very problematic.
__________________
South SF Bay Area Carpet Cleaning Cleanway USA Inc.
 
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 06-17-2012, 09:32 AM
linux7802's Avatar
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: 11-26-09
Posts: 123
iTrader: 0 / 0%
I would like to recommend you please contact the GoDaddy once again and ask them to open a port as per your script requirement and if still they deny to open a port than search for the new hosting provider but make sure that new hosting provider will open a port for you else once again you face the same problem again with the new hosting provider
 
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 06-20-2012, 10:16 AM
Contributing Member
Latest Blog:
None

 
Join Date: 06-14-10
Posts: 897
iTrader: 0 / 0%
You need to get a host who isn't incompetent. While you are at it, move away from shared plans for at least a VPS. That way you can manage the ports yourself.
__________________
My Site: MacLappy [link soon!]

Hosted by: Myhosting.com
 
Reply With Quote
Go Back   Webmaster Forum > Web Development > Web Hosting Forum

Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem with godaddy hosting ( 500 internal server error) kks_krishna Web Hosting 4 03-19-2009 04:04 PM
Problem in godaddy economic hosting - plz help me kks_krishna Web Hosting Forum 2 03-13-2009 02:45 AM
Problem in hosting with godaddy ranjansmile4u Web Hosting 0 09-15-2008 02:04 AM


V7N Network
Get exposure! V7N I Love Photography V7N SEO Blog V7N Directory


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:31 PM.
Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000-2014 Jelsoft Enterprises Limited.
Copyright © 2003 - 2014 Escalate Media




Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 RC 2 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.