Webmaster Forum

Go Back   Webmaster Forum > Web Development > Web Hosting Forum

Web Hosting Forum Discuss web hosting related stuff.


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Share |
  #1  
Old 03-20-2016, 08:48 PM
SunEmbroidery's Avatar
SunEmbroidery SunEmbroidery is offline
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: 04-11-08
Location: Seaville, NJ
Posts: 85
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Leverage Browser Caching - Windows Hosting?

Is it possible to set-up up leverage browser caching (to satisfy Pagespeed Insight requirements) if my site is is hosted on a shared Windows account? The site was created in Expressions Web if that matters. Is it possible by uploading a web.config file in my root directory? Thanks!
 

Advertisement

Advertisement

  #2  
Old 05-02-2016, 06:44 PM
snakeair snakeair is offline
Super Moderator - Rest in Peace 2018
 
Join Date: 12-31-07
Location: Medford, NJ
Posts: 54,771
iTrader: 3 / 100%
Quote:
Originally Posted by SunEmbroidery View Post
Is it possible to set-up up leverage browser caching (to satisfy Pagespeed Insight requirements) if my site is is hosted on a shared Windows account? The site was created in Expressions Web if that matters. Is it possible by uploading a web.config file in my root directory? Thanks!
Have you found out how to do this yet? It's been awhile and just doing a checkup.
 
  #3  
Old 05-03-2016, 05:59 PM
SunEmbroidery's Avatar
SunEmbroidery SunEmbroidery is offline
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: 04-11-08
Location: Seaville, NJ
Posts: 85
iTrader: 0 / 0%
I don't know. I was directed to Microsoft help information but the examples didn't seem to fit my situation although I don't really know. I was going to create a file called "web.config" and have it say:
Code:
<configuration> <system.webServer> <staticContent> <clientCache cacheControlMode+"UsesExpires" httpExpires="Tue, 19 jan 2038 03 jan 2038 03:1407 GM </staticContent> </system.webServer> </configuration>
As stated in a Go Daddy (my host) help article but I really don't have any idea what I'm doing. I don't understand how servers work. I'm busy with my business now so that's partly why I haven't tried anything. I'll call GD at some point but my experience with them is that you have to direct them - not vice versa. Any additional help would be appreciated. I would like to satisfy Pagespeed Insight requirements but I don't have any understanding in this area and don't want to create problems for my site.
 
Go Back   Webmaster Forum > Web Development > Web Hosting Forum

Closed Thread


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Leveraging Browser Caching stormshadow Coding Forum 2 08-28-2014 05:32 AM
Browser Caching to Improve Site Speed: How to Check and Implement It snakeair SEO Forum 0 12-28-2012 07:59 AM
Browser windows resize on load mircea Web Design Lobby 1 11-20-2004 08:52 PM


V7N Network
Get exposure! V7N I Love Photography V7N SEO Blog V7N Directory


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:27 PM.
Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000-2014 Jelsoft Enterprises Limited.
Copyright © 2003 - 2018 VIX-WomensForum LLC