Webmaster Forum

Go Back   Webmaster Forum > Web Development > Web Hosting Forum

Web Hosting Forum Discuss web hosting related stuff.


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Share |
  #1  
Old 03-27-2017, 03:06 AM
badhiyakhana badhiyakhana is offline
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: 05-20-15
Location: Barmer
Posts: 126
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Exclamation Is Varnish Software Good For Site Speed?

I am using Wordpress theme with Blue Host India Server. My blog seed is very low. There is an option in blue host India, to Enable Varnish for my site. Should I do this and will it improve my site speed ?
 

Advertisement

Advertisement

  #2  
Old 04-01-2017, 10:58 AM
wordpressmigrator wordpressmigrator is offline
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: 02-26-17
Location: Gurgaon, India
Posts: 74
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Varnish Cache is a caching module for Linux. You need to have a VPS if you want to use Varnish.

If you are on shared hosting, then use W3 Total Cache.
 
  #3  
Old 04-04-2017, 10:51 PM
badhiyakhana badhiyakhana is offline
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: 05-20-15
Location: Barmer
Posts: 126
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Thanx
 
  #4  
Old 04-14-2017, 03:24 AM
Lucian Hodoboc's Avatar
Lucian Hodoboc Lucian Hodoboc is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: 04-14-17
Posts: 25
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Personally, I'm not too fond of Varnish. The only thing it did when I used it on the server I had my forum on was to delay the update of avatar photos whenever my members uploaded new avatars to their profiles. It took up to 15 minutes to display the new avatars. As soon as I disabled Varnish, the issue disappeared.
 
  #5  
Old 04-19-2017, 03:48 AM
Localnode Localnode is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: 12-04-15
Posts: 8
iTrader: 0 / 0%
If the option to enable it is there - go ahead. Using it in conjunction with a caching plugin in Wordpress is the best option.

However, switching to a non-EIG host is the best course of action.
 
  #6  
Old 04-24-2017, 01:15 AM
webhost.uk.net webhost.uk.net is offline
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: 07-26-09
Posts: 110
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Yes if you get the option to enable it will surely help.
 
  #7  
Old 04-24-2017, 02:23 PM
snakeair snakeair is offline
Super Moderator - Rest in Peace 2018
 
Join Date: 12-31-07
Location: Medford, NJ
Posts: 54,771
iTrader: 3 / 100%
A few words on varnish.

https://www.interserver.net/tips/kb/...h-cache-works/

I have this enabled because my host provides this option. Any tiny thing I can enable to improve the blog a little bit, I will do it. lol
 
  #8  
Old 04-25-2017, 12:38 AM
Hahh's Avatar
Hahh Hahh is offline
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: 09-20-06
Posts: 396
iTrader: 0 / 0%
I think you may need to start considering solving of this problem from the end of the changing platform (not from the software/plugin side) . There are a lot of platforms like everest.net for cloud computing designed for WP developers. 7 days which they provide for testing might help you to answer if they are going to help you or not.
 
  #9  
Old 05-29-2017, 05:57 PM
cochinweb cochinweb is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: 07-04-16
Location: India
Posts: 14
iTrader: 0 / 0%
there are some shared hosting providers out there with varnish cache
 
Go Back   Webmaster Forum > Web Development > Web Hosting Forum

Closed Thread


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How important is multi touch software for business? Swapnil Upadyay Tech Talk 1 04-12-2017 11:01 PM
Software for creating a menu? eric_wahlberg Graphic Design Forum 8 04-09-2017 10:18 PM


V7N Network
Get exposure! V7N I Love Photography V7N SEO Blog V7N Directory


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:25 AM.
Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000-2014 Jelsoft Enterprises Limited.
Copyright © 2003 - 2018 VIX-WomensForum LLC