Webmaster Forum

Go Back   Webmaster Forum > Web Development > Web Design Lobby > Web Usability

Web Usability Discuss and review websites for better usability.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Share |
Old 09-05-2007, 01:39 PM

Amazon's log-off button

Hi lads

A small question about Web Usability:

Amazon.com does not have a link to log out.

As a user, I found this quite annoying and it took me a while to found the way to do it*

As a Multimedia Design student, I can't understand why Amazon decides not to have a simple way to log out from its website. It doesn't make much sense to me.

Does anybody have a logic explanation to this?

Thanks,
Antonio

* From Amazon FAQs: To log out, click the Welcome tab at the top of the page. Below the row of tabs you’ll see a short greeting. Click the “If you’re not [your name] click here” link. Your personal information is removed from the computer. If you click the Welcome tab again, you’ll see the greeting is no longer personalised.

Old 09-05-2007, 02:16 PM
Contributing Member
Latest Blog:
None

http://amazon.ca/gp/help/customer/di...&nodeId=918808

Exactly what your small text indicates. Isn't that enough..?
laurakishimoto.ca

Old 09-06-2007, 03:17 AM
v7n Mentor
Latest Blog:
None

They have a system in which they don't want you to think about it until they need to confirm your password to be sure it is you. Unfortunately it leaves your current status a bit vague as the top line on the right looks the same either way.

Yes it does say "Hello, Mr Smith. We have recommendations for you. (If you're not Mr Smith, click here.)" for example in the middle just under the search box - but this is away form the account links (top right corner) and it is not shown on product detail pages or when browsing categories.

In my opinion user's have every right to feel confused.

The top-right account links section should provide clear information on your logged in/out status and a link to logout without going through an extra page.