Webmaster Forum

Go Back   Webmaster Forum > Marketing Forums > Writing For The Web

Writing For The Web Need help with SEO copywriting, marketing copy, or just need ideas for writing creative articles or effective ads? Let's work together to learn more about writing for the web!

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Share |
Old 09-28-2011, 10:11 PM
Contributing Member
Latest Blog:
None

For established writers - How did you improve your writing skills?

I'm just curious how some of you guys that are professional writers got you skill level to where it is now.

Did you just write, write and write some more and you just naturally improved?

Or, did you undertake some kind of training, be it at a degree level or just by reading some books/websites about writing?

The reason I ask is that I am a new blogger, I don't want to put a bunch of rubbish out there with my name on it. I don't think I am a horrible writer but being relatively inexperienced at it, I know there is a lot of room for improvement.

Last edited by Seven3; 09-28-2011 at 10:23 PM.

Advertisement

Advertisement

Old 09-29-2011, 01:06 PM
Contributing Member

I think taking writing & English classes in college helped my development quite a bit. Some natural talent sure helps, but as Stephen King once described it (oooh that's awesome that google has it), writers are never given a sharp knife to craft their trade with...though some start out with awfully big blades.

Learning the process of structuring essays makes you a better post writer. Lookit, I just automatically integrated a source, and the whole thing has a point. I don't "think" about doing that. Surely there was a time that I did have to figure it out, but now the process flows naturally. Of course, it's been about 20 years now since I started writing.
Freelance writing: https://sites.google.com/site/ncbizwriter/

Old 09-29-2011, 10:23 PM
Contributing Member
Latest Blog:
None